Environment and Sustainability Committee

Meeting Venue: **Committee Room 4 - Ty Hywel** Meeting date: Wednesday, 21 September 2011 Meeting time: 09:30 - 11:50

Cynulliad Cenedlaethol Cymru National

Assembly for Wales

This meeting can be viewed on Senedd TV at:

http://www.senedd.tv/archiveplayer.jsf?v=en_700000_21_09_2011&t=0&l=en



Concise Minutes:

Dafydd Elis-Thomas (Chair) Assembly Members:

Mick Antoniw Rebecca Evans Russell George Vaughan Gething Llyr Huws Gruffydd

Julie James William Powell **David Rees**

Antoinette Sandbach

John Griffiths Witnesses: **Carwyn Jones**

> Rhodri Asby, Welsh Government Matthew Quinn, Welsh Government Clive Bates, Welsh Government

Virginia Hawkins (Clerk) Committee Staff: **Catherine Hunt (Deputy Clerk)**

1. Apologies and substitutions

1.1 There were no apologies.

2. Inquiry into Energy Policy and Planning in Wales - Evidence from the First Minister (09.30 - 10.15)

2.1 The First Minister and officials responded to questions from Members of the Committee on energy policy and planning in Wales.

3. Inquiry into Energy Policy and Planning in Wales – Evidence from the Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development (10.15 – 11.00)

- 3.1 The Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development and officials responded to questions from Members of the Committee on energy policy and planning in Wales.
- 3.2 The Minister agreed to provide information on the number of applications received for projects both above and below 50MW since devolution, and the types of projects.

4. General scrutiny session with the Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development (11.00 - 11.30)

4.1 The Minister for Environment and Sustainable Development and officials responded to questions from Members of the Committee on the Welsh Government's priorities for the environment and sustainable development.

5. Establishment of Task and Finish Group on the Common Agriculture Policy (11.30 - 11.45)

5.1 The Committee agreed the following motion to establish a Common Agriculture Policy Task and Finish Group under Standing Order 17.17:

That the committee resolves to establish a Common Agriculture Policy Task and Finish Group;

that the remit of that Task and Finish Group is to consider the impact of the European Commission's proposals for the reform of the Common Agriculture Policy on Wales, make recommendations to the Welsh Government on priorities in negotiations and to influence the wider CAP reform debate and that it will dissolve no later than the end of 2012 or once the negotiations on the legislative proposals for CAP are completed, whichever is earliest.

that the membership of the Common Agriculture Policy Task and Finish Group comprises Dafydd Elis-Thomas AM, Rebecca Evans AM, Vaughan Gething AM, Llyr Huws Gruffydd AM, William Powell AM and Antoinette Sandbach AM with Vaughan Gething AM elected as a Chair.

6. Establishment of Task and Finish Group on the Common Fisheries Policy (11.45 - 12.00)

6.1 The Committee agreed the following motion to establish a Common Fisheries Policy Task and Finish Group under Standing Order 17.17:

That the committee resolves to establish a Common Fisheries Policy Task and Finish Group;

that the remit of that Task and Finish Group is to consider the European Commission's proposals for the reform of the Common Fisheries Policy on Wales, make

recommendations to the Welsh Government on priorities in negotiations and to influence the wider CFP reform debate and that it will dissolve no later than the end of 2012 or once the negotiations on the legislative proposals for CFP are completed, whichever is earliest.

that the membership of the Common Fisheries Policy Task and Finish Group comprises Dafydd Elis-Thomas AM, Llyr Huws Gruffydd AM, Julie James AM, William Powell AM, David Rees AM and Antoinette Sandbach AM with Julie James AM elected as a Chair.

7. Paper to note: Committee Forward Work Programme - Autumn 2011

Transcript

To view the meeting transcript, click here.